Multiple Identities? A Reflection

Improvements

This week I put a lot of time into improving my blog by taking previous comments on board. I feel that the structure of my blog has improved and I used infographics to support my arguments. Overall, I learned a great deal from reading my peer’s blog posts. Many people took to this weeks topic from different angles and so the blogs largely varied.

Summarising Other Blogs

Below is an infographic which I created to summarise blogs in which I interacted with:

000

Figure 1 ‘Summarising blogs’ by Heighway, 2018

What Have I Learnt From My Peers?

From Stephanie’s post  I learnt that recruiters are less trusting of recruiting people from Facebook and prefer sites such as LinkedIn (TheFractons, 2017). Before this topic I only thought to create two separate Facebook accounts for professional and personal use. and so migrating to other platforms is not something I had considered. After reading Stephanie’s post I have realised it may be useful for me to create accounts on separate platforms to accommodate these different identities.

I also particularly enjoyed reading Tewsdae’s blog which focused on anonymous identity. which I did not include in my blog this week. After reading this blog and researching this concept further I have decided that I personally disagree with the ability to remain anonymous when posting online. This is mainly because I recollect a certain social media platform which was popular among my peers in secondary school. This site let users post on other users wall anonymously which subsequently led to bullying. I therefore think if you are happy to post something online you should be happy for your name to feature a long side it.

Below is a link which discusses anonymity online further:

Concluding Thoughts

Overall, I have thoroughly enjoyed expanding my knowledge of this topic. I have learned that although I created two separate Facebook pages to accommodate my professional and personal identities, this may not be enough when looking for a graduate job. I therefore plan to create a LinkedIn page this weekend!

My comments:

(321 Words)

References

The fractions. (2017). LinkedIn Vs. Facebook: Which is Better For Business Networking. [online] Available at:

http://www.thefractions.com/2017/04/linkedin-vs-facebook-better-business-networking/

Leave a comment